Nevada marijuana laws: Is weed legal in Nevada?
According to the Nevada marijuana laws, recreational and medical weed is currently legal in the state.
In 2000, The Medical Use of Marijuana Act, or Question 9, was approved by 65.4% of voters in Nevada. This legalized the home cultivation of marijuana for medical use and created a patient registry system. But, it took some time medical marijuana wasn’t legally sold until 2015.
On November 8, 2016, Nevada voters passed the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act and marijuana was legalized. 54.4% of residents voted in favor of marijuana legalization. Recreational cannabis laws went into effect on July 1, 2017, and allowed adults age 21 and older to purchase and consume cannabis for personal use. Before this, possession and consumption of cannabis was only legal for medical patients who suffered from qualifying health conditions.
The Nevada Department of Taxation is responsible for overlooking both the medical marijuana and adult-use programs.
Where is it safe to purchase?
Anyone over the age of 21, or a medical marijuana patient or caregiver can purchase and consume cannabis from a licensed Nevada dispensary. There is a 10% excise tax on recreational cannabis sales. There is a 1oz limit when purchasing cannabis.
When will medical weed be legal in Nevada?
Medical marijuana has been legal in Nevada since 2000, and has been legal for purchase since 2015.
How old do I need to be to consume?
Anyone over the age of 21, or a medical marijuana patient or caregiver can purchase and consume cannabis from a licensed Nevada dispensary. Cannabis cannot be consumed in a public place, such as a park. Cannabis users must consume cannabis on private property, assuming the property owner allows it. It is illegal to consume cannabis in a moving vehicle, and it is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana.
What is the possession limit for flower?
For recreational cannabis, those age 21 and older can possess up to 1oz (28 grams) of marijuana flower, edibles, or topicals. Adults age 21 and older can grow up to six plants per person and up to 12 plants per household, if they live farther than 25 miles away from a licensed dispensary.
Medical cannabis patients and registered caregivers can possess up to 2.5 oz of marijuana flower, edibles, concentrates, or topicals every 14 days. Registered patients may grow up to 12 marijuana plants for medical use.
What is the possession limit for concentrates?
Recreational cannabis users may posses up to 0.125g of concentrates. Medical patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces of concentrates per two-week period.
Nevada marijuana laws: Medical marijuana program
Nevada patients must get a recommendation from a certified doctor in order to obtain a Nevada medical marijuana license. People who have been diagnosed with a qualifying chronic or debilitating condition in which medical marijuana may help alleviate symptoms are eligible.
Qualifying conditions include:
- Addiction to opioids
- Anxiety disorder
- Autoimmune disease
- Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
- Neuropathic conditions
- Persistent muscle spasms, including those caused by multiple sclerosis
- Seizures, including those caused by epilepsy
- Severe nausea or pain
- Any other chronic or debilitating medical condition as classified by the DPBH, or upon the acceptance of a petition to add a condition to Nevada’s recognized list of conditions.
Nevada medical marijuana card application process
To obtain a medical marijuana card in Nevada, follow these steps:
- Go to the online registry and apply for the Medical Marijuana Program.
- Complete the application.
- Choose and designate a caregiver, if applicable.
- Get a physician’s signature to complete the application. The doctor will need to verify that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition.
- Scan and submit the application and include a copy of a Nevada state ID to show proof of residency.
- Pay the fee of $50 for one year or $100 for two years.
Requirements of caregivers:
Patients who need assistance in obtaining or using medical marijuana can designate one caregiver. Caregivers must meet the following criteria.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a permanent resident of Nevada
- Not be a medical cannabis user or patient themselves
Patients can only designate one caregiver at a time. They are the primary person who is responsible for the patient. Approved caregivers can pick up their patient’s medical cannabis at a licensed dispensary and can possess, transport, and administer the medical cannabis to the patient.
Does Arizona accept out of state mmj cards?
Arizona dispensaries accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards and are authorized to sell to patients who have one from their home state. You can find more information on the DPBH website.
Licensing & lab testing
All marijuana grown and dispensed in Nevada must go through testing at an independent testing lab. These laboratories must receive a medical cannabis establishment registration certificate prior to any testing. Labs must also meet certain criteria to complete the certification process.
Cannabis testing labs screen for the following in cannabis:
- Foreign matter
- Heavy metals
- Moisture content
- Pesticide and other chemical residue